Driver Points
Driver Photos

Driver Points
 Driver Photos

Driver Points
Driver Photos

Super Sportsman

For more information on The Age of Innocence
& From The Beginning....
click here

Ben's Pics
The displayed photos were picked by museum staff member Ben Turner who has spent many hours sorting
and cataloging thousands of photos  in EMMR's collection.
EMMR photos are available for
public viewing during museum hours.
  Silver Spring History Page 1



It is said that the only thing that remains constant is change. In the coming year and hereafter, there will be a big change in the landscape along the Carlisle Pike in Mechanicsburg.

Having hosted Saturday evening auto racing programs every year since its inaugural season in 1953 the Silver Spring Speedway will not open for the 2006 season. 

The speedway property will be razed for the construction of a shopping center....read more

Click thumbnails to view larger images

1958 Banquet

1963 Banquet

Left to right:  Ken Hurley,
Nick Turo, Eldon Townsend

1966 Banquet

1961 Banquet
Front row left to right:  Fred Putney, Gary Wolford, Ray Tilley, Lynn Weibley, Gene Kohr, Lee Parthemore 
Back row left to right:  Bobby Gerhart, Bobby Brymesser, Earman Fulk, Bill Miller, Ken Fortna, Ed Leiss, Bob Danner

1964 Aerial Shot of Silver Spring Speedway


From 1954 to 2005 Silver Spring Speedway ran over 2500 feature events with 120 track champions and 20 sportsman tour champions crowned.  The most feature wins for each division of car are:

Sportsman Gary Wolford 86 wins
Limited Late Models Ed Jones 61 wins
Street Stocks Richie Hughes 36 wins

1954 Results

Starting in 1975 the track held the first annual ”Sportsman 100”  And the winner of the race was Fred Putney. At the 31st annual “Sportsman 100” in 2005, Dave Calaman was the winner.

Then in 1976 we saw the “Late Model 50”  begin. Its first winner was Don Comerer.
Later named the Paul Orendo Memorial Late model 50, was won by Carl Billet in 2005.

1995 was the start of the “Street Stock 40”.  The first winner was Dan Cline and the winner in 2005 was Wes Alleman.  


The track also hosted many special races for other types of racing over the years. These races varied from the BIG ONE for Go-karts to one of the yearly shows for the 410 sprints PA SPEEDWEEK.


Micro Nationals
Fall Classic


The BIG ONE was a 1 day event at the end of the season that would start at 8:00am and run well into the late night with over 500 competitors.



A fan favorite, The PA SPEEDWEEK show featured the very fast 410 winged Sprint cars on the tight 3/8th mile track. The final Speedweek show at the track was won
by Lance Dewease on June 29th 2005. The first ever sprint car race was won by Lynn Paxton in 1971.  The fastest ever lap was turned by Lucas Wolf in 2005.


For 50+ years from early March to late September on Saturday nights, Silver Spring Speedway was all about friends, family and the best auto racing in the area.

The Silver Spring Speedway was also a fan friendly track.  After the races, the pits were opened up for the fans to go meet the drivers and their race teams. The teams got a big kick out of the people coming down that it eventually turned
into a big cook-out. This would sometimes go on till the early morning hours with some of the people waiting for the flea market to open on Sunday morning.


Also one of the race team’s favorite events was the big wheel/ bike races for the kids. While the kids raced down the front stretch, the drivers and race teams would line the inside wall to cheer on the kids. It was a role reversal of sort for the kids and drivers.



From powder puff races, mechanics races, to the holiday fireworks, the Silver Spring Speedway was a place for the whole family.



In September 2002, Mike and Theresa Stoner said "I do" at the track in front of a crowd of 15,000, during the Sportsman 100.  Read story


History Page 1     History Page 2     History Page 3


Copyright © 2018 Silver Spring Speedway
All Rights Reserved