Driver Points
Driver Photos

Driver Points
 Driver Photos

Driver Points
Driver Photos

Super Sportsman

For more information on The Age of Innocence
& From The Beginning....click here

Ben's Pics
The displayed photos were picked by museum staff member Ben Turner who has spent many hours sorting
and cataloging thousands of photos  in EMMR's collection.
EMMR photos are available for
public viewing during museum hours.

For more information, please contact Stephen Bubb at
sfbubb754@msn.com or by telephone at 717-774-8664.

The Memories Will Live On! 

The memories of Silver Spring Speedway and Fredericksburg Speedway should never be forgotten. 
Now they will be remembered in a new book. 

The Age of Innocence This is a book of over 130 pages covering the history of Silver Spring
and Fredericksburg Speedways from 1965 through 1971. 
Over 100 photographs provide a vivid reminder of what many call the “good old days” of racing.


The book covers the great Sportsman racing at both tracks.  From the star drivers like Gary Wolford, Russ Smith, Fred Putney, Fred Locke, Skip Emlet, Gary Wolford, Ken Bricker, Kramer Williamson and Dick Snare, the Sportsman drivers provided so much entertainment. 

Not forgotten are those great Hobby stock races at both tracks.  From the Oldsmobiles, Studebakers, Hudsons, Mercurys, Chrylsers, Chevys and Fords, the finest cars to ever come out of Detroit rubbed fenders on the two dirt ovals. 


The history of that era is covered in great detail. From the historic nine-race win streak at Silver Spring by Russ Smith, to a rookie named Bobby Weaver winning at Fredericksburg in only his fourth attempt. 


It is also Ken Neiswender’s domination over the Hobby cars at Fredericksburg while Bob Wilbur
wins 21 of 23 qualifying events one year at Silver Spring. 


The price is $25, which covers all shipping charges.  





The New Silver Spring Speedway Book Is For Sale

The beginning history of the former Silver Spring Speedway is the forgotten part of the famed racetrack.  Now that early history comes to life in the new book entitled "From the Beginning." 

From the Beginning covers Silver Spring Speedway history from the planning and building stages in 1953, through to 1964.  This is about Ray Garver Sr. and Donald Moyer constructing the new track.  Was the new track supposed to be a half-mile in length?  This book covers that topic.

Often forgotten are the early drivers at Silver Spring.  Many stars of later years developed their skills during the early Silver Spring Speedway days.  This is about the Tilley boys, Ron and Ray; it is about Bob Gerhart, Deacon Gerhart, Ken Hurley, Lynn Weibley, Ken Fortna, Jim Sheaffer,
Merle "Hoppy" Fissel, Fred Putney, Lynn Paxton, Mitch Smith and so many, many more. 
Three drivers from this era, Mitch Smith, Lynn Paxton and Ray Tilley, are now enshrined in
the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame.

The new book contains over 200 photographs of the coupes and sedans that were in action at
Silver Spring Speedway. 

From the Beginning also contains feature stories on Carl Rotz, Jim Sheaffer, Vance Yinger Sr., and the Thompson No. 44 Limited Sportsman.

The 140-page book is $25, which includes the shipping costs. 


Copyright © 2017 Silver Spring Speedway
All Rights Reserved